Evie Cotrulia

Name: Evie Cotrulia

D.O.B: 24/05/1979

Hometown: Navan, Co. Meath, Ireland.
Currently live in Richmond UK

Sport: Climbing

I grew up in Ireland competing in mini Olympic handball, athletics (800m), and hockey. I climbed just a little as a kid at a crappy disused quarry near where I lived, and I only got into it seriously in my 20’s.

I stared setting at a time when I could only name one other female setter and now I’m the route setting manager / head setter at 3 UK climbing centres, White Spider, Red Spider and Green Spider. I also founded Creative Climbing with fellow route setter and Scarpa athlete Emma

Get to know Evie

Tell us about your successes so far?

Myself and Emma set up Creative Climbing in 2018. We provide workshops that introduce women to route setting in a safe and encouraging all female environment so they can learn the basics before putting themselves forward into the male dominated area. From every workshop that we’ve run there is at least one female now being paid to route set.

What are you working on? What are your goals for the future?

I have some mini projects here and there but my work is dominating my life at the moment. I also live in London where there are lots of climbing walls but no outdoor climbing.

My main goal right now is to work less and have more time to climb and be in nature. Yann and I have some plans, so watch this space!

Why do you climb? What do you love about climbing?

I like climbing indoors but I love climbing outdoors, being in nature and away from the noise of the city. It’s the entire experience for me, from the movement and physicality of it to the sense of achievement when clipping the chains or topping out.

Which Scarpa shoe is your favourite?

Climbing: Instinct VSR. It fits my foot perfectly, especially on my wide heels, and it hits the right balance between sensitivity and power.

Route Setting: Currently using the Spirit Evo

Running: Spin on shorter runs and Spin Ultra on longer runs.

Tell us about your best day climbing?

Every day that I’m outdoors in nature, climbing somewhere beautiful, sending or not.

What do you do away from your sport?

I love running. I used to run 800m competitively as a junior which is a pretty quick run. During the first lockdown I started running longer distances up to 21km and loved it. I like baking bread. I read a lot.

Where is your #NoPlacetooFar?

Any loooooong road trip off the beaten track with my Yann.

Get Social 

Keep up with the latest from Evie on Social Media


Photo Credits

Yann, M, Tokyo Magic, Ed Wong,

Related Products